Guiding the Way

I used to teach at a high school that had block scheduling. I loved having all of that time during one class period. I didn’t like having the students every other day. I now teach at a high school that has 48 minute class periods. That is 3 minutes more than half of what I was used to.  AHHHHH!!! Talk about the need to change how I teach.

The first thing I noticed was that students take WAY too long to take notes.

Solution…

Guided notes. Makes more work for me the first year doing it, but saves an amazing amount of time in class. Plus, we don’t have to wait for those really slow writers to catch up.

Here is a couple of examples of my guided notes.

Advanced Geometry 7.4 Notes

I use Cornell notes for my Advanced Geometry classes.

Geometry 6.1 notes

My Geometry classes’ notes are made to cut in half and be taped inside their composition notebook. (I’ll explain this later.)

Pre-Calc 7.1 Notes

For Trig/Pre-Calc I just go through the beginning of the section and use the main things they need to know and examples that will help them do the type of problems they will need to solve.

There are a lot of advantages to using guided notes, but one of the big disadvantages I see and regret that it causes, is that students don’t know how to take proper notes without guidance. How will this help them in college? I’m torn about it.

I teach Sophomores in Geometry and Juniors and Seniors in Trig/Pre-Calc. I make guided notes for ALL of them.

What is your opinion of this?

One thought on “Guiding the Way”

Leave a Reply

